While no one leaves their home expecting an injury, many Missourians unfortunately get hurt at work. While many of these work-related injuries are minor, some leave a person permanently disabled and unable to work in any occupation. When this happens, these people will naturally want to get as much compensation as possible.
Our state has a workers’ compensation system, and injured workers can draw benefits from that system to cover lost income and medical expenses. But, workers’ compensation payments do not stop SSD claims because everyone is permitted to draw from both systems.
There is an important caveat. Nonetheless, a person cannot receive more than 80 percent of their old gross wages from workers’ compensation benefits and disability benefits combined.
For example, if a person was earning $5,000 a month prior to his or her injury, and worker’s compensation is covering $3,000 a month in lost wages, then the most the Administration will pay is $1,000 a month as 80 percent of $5,000 is $4,000. Of course, the specific numbers will depend heavily on a state’s workers’ compensation laws and the other workings of the Social Security system.
Missourians injured at work have the right to seek compensation from a variety of sources. Therefore, someone who got hurt at work and is now drawing workers’ compensation should still consider filing a disability claim, if their condition qualifies them to do so. The process of applying for a disability benefits can be complicated, however. Seeking experienced legal assistance can help those in such situations proceed through every step properly. Optimally, an injured individual will be granted benefits and be able to live comfortably while unable to work.